Even heroes have the right to dream

“Superman (It’s Not Easy)”

I can’t stand to fly
I’m not that naïve
I’m just out to find
The better part of me

I’m more than a bird,
I’m more than a plane
I’m more than some pretty face beside a train
It’s not easy to be me

I wish that I could cry
Fall upon my knees
Find a way to lie
‘Bout a home I’ll never see

It may sound absurd but don’t be naïve
Even heroes have the right to bleed
I may be disturbed but won’t you concede
Even heroes have the right to dream
And it’s not easy to be me

Up, up and away, away from me
Well, it’s alright
You can all sleep sound tonight
I’m not crazy or anything

I can’t stand to fly
I’m not that naïve
Men weren’t meant to ride
With clouds between their knees

I’m only a man in a silly red sheet
Digging for kryptonite on this one way street
Only a man in a funny red sheet
Looking for special things inside of me
Inside of me, inside of me [2x]

I’m only a man in a funny red sheet
I’m only a man looking for a dream
I’m only a man in a funny red sheet
And it’s not easy.
It’s not easy to be me.

The song I have chosen is Superman written and recorded by Five For Fighting. I picked this song because the lyrics really stand out to me. As a senior in high school, I often do my best to stand out from the mass of high school students. Parallel to the beginning of the song, “I’m more than a bird, I’m more than a plane, I’m more than some pretty face beside a train” I make myself impossible to be mistaken for others like me. Even if I’m “only a man in a funny red sheet” I know that people will remember me when I’m gone and my goal is to be one of a kind while I’m still here.

The other side of the lyrics I find meaningful is the chorus, “I can’t stand to fly, I’m not that naïve.” I know my boundaries, but that doesn’t stop me from pushing them. The lyricist follows one of these choruses with “I’m just looking for the better part of me” which is really meaningful to me. I often do just that. I think about how I can better myself and surroundings. Even though at the end of the day, I’m just a man in a funny red sheet.

Lastly, the constant repetition of “It’s hard to be me” is something I feel is extremely relatable. No matter who you are or what your background is, life get’s hard. I feel like everyone has at one point or another had these exact words cross their minds. I feel like as a society we often turn things into a competition, toils and burdens included. At the end of the day it isn’t important who has had a rougher time, because even heroes have the right to bleed.

6 thoughts on “Even heroes have the right to dream

  1. I actually have never heard this song before, but I really like it now that I have listened to it! I like how you pointed out that it really is “hard to be me” or be yourself. Especially when others make you feel bad about yourself, it’s hard to go back to being my happy, and funny self. I also like how you said that life is like a competition and sometimes it really does feel that way. For me it seems like its always about who has the best grades, or the highest GPA, or who is best dancer. But sometimes just being yourself is hard. Life is hard man.

    Like

  2. I like that you brought up the idea of a society that constantly puts pressure on people to be extraordinary or amazing. In applying for colleges, seniors in high school have to appear to be almost superhuman if they wish to get into the schools that they want. We have to make all A’s, have joined way too many clubs and basically spent all of our time working, but this doesn’t leave time for people to be themselves and pursue what they want to do. The path to an education is not easy, but it is worth it in the end.

    Like

  3. This song is beautiful. I’m not sure if what I interpreted from the song may be true for everyone else, but it seemed to be imploring people to refrain from surface-level assumptions. Someone who may appear the superhero (good grades, talent, etc.) aren’t perfect and have their own struggles too. To choose to stand out anyway, despite negative assumptions, is in it’s own way superhuman. This is something we are all told to strive for, yet few actually go the distance, and it is amazing how you do try.

    Like

Leave a comment